Armchair Modeller No Longer

Hullo there, and welcome to my new blog. As you may or may not have gathered, it’s a blog on the subject of railways, and in particular model ones.

I should probably tell you a bit about myself. While I’m not exactly new to the hobby (I got my first Hornby train set at the age of three – like most addictions, the dealers like to catch you at a young age), I have up until recently been an armchair modeller. I read the magazines, surfed the web and even occasionally bought items for the Great Future Layout, but never really got going on any particular project. I’ve recently started work on a micro-layout and this time it’s going to get finished… eventually. So, relatively speaking, I’m a beginner.

This blog isn’t just intended to give you a blow-by-blow account of my modelling exploits. It’s also a place for general musings on the hobby and occasional items of interest that I find. Also, having gotten into the habit of carrying a camera with me, it’s a place for snapshots of things that might be useful or interesting to others in the hobby.

This is the first image that comes up when you search for "modelling exploits". Sadly, I have yet to meet this woman at any shows or club open days.

This is the first image that comes up when you Google "modelling exploits". Sadly, I have yet to meet this woman at any shows or club open days.

So, that’s a brief overview of me and what to expect from my shiny new blog. I’ve never been much good at wrapping these things up, so I suppose I’d better finish with a cheesy rail-related pun. Er… “Right away!”

Leave a Reply

